How to Use Bridge and Version Cue: Part 2 | 5 | WebReference

How to Use Bridge and Version Cue: Part 2 | 5

Inside Adobe Bridge and Version Cue: Part 2

Naming Files

Before Version Cue, naming files and trying to remember which file was which was one of the most difficult and time-consuming aspects of project management. Naming conventions were often quite complex, and comprehensible only to the person who had created them. There was also a constant danger of making a mistake and overwriting one version with another. Version Cue tackles the file-naming dilemma for you and makes it virtually impossible to accidentally overwrite a file.

In the Version Cue Workspace, you can actually view thumbnail images of the files and data about them, so that you can quickly and easily see which file you need to work on. If you change a file and save a new version, you simply write what you did in the Version Comments area so others can see what's changed.

USING VERSIONS AND ALTERNATES

A version is created to keep track of changes to a file—versions are essentially snapshots that you take along the way, to be referred back to later if necessary. Each time you change a file, you can save it as a new "version" of the original file. An alternate is a variation of your design, or an element of that design. For example, if you're using a photo in your design but you're torn between three different choices, you can save each photo as an alternate and quickly change them around when showing the design to your client.

Working with Versions

Versions allow you to save and track the history of a file in a Version Cue project. You can save your work at each stage of the design process, with a note about which stage the file is in or what changes have been made in that version (initial sketch, enhanced areas, added text, layout pages, and so on). Version Cue has built-in security and a series of alert warnings that prevent you from overwriting any of the versions. You can save versions of both Adobe and non-Adobe files.

To save a version when using an Adobe program:

  1. Choose File → Save a Version.

  2. Click Save.

The version is now saved in Bridge under Version Cue CS2 in the project folder that you have assigned to it.

TIP: To update a version in GoLive, choose File → Connect to Version Cue. As GoLive is synchronizing the files with Version Cue, a Save a Version dialog box will come up. In this dialog box, you can enter a description for the version you're saving.

To save a version when using a non-Adobe program:

  1. Choose Version Cue from the Bridge browser and double-click the file that you want to save a version of. The file will open in the application in which it was created.

  2. Edit the file and then save it as you normally would.

  3. From Bridge, choose Tools → Version Cue → Save a Version.

  4. In the Save a Version dialog box, add a description of what was done in this version in the Version Comments area.

  5. Click Save.

The version is now saved in Bridge under Version Cue CS2 in the project folder that you have assigned to it.

To view the versions of a file in Version Cue, open the project in the Version Cue/Bridge workspace and choose View → View as Versions and Alternates. The window will display the file and each version that has been created of it (Figure 1-16).


Figure 1-16.

If you rest your cursor over one of the thumbnail images, a ScreenTip will pop up. This ScreenTip contains a description of the file, including the comment you added when you saved the version. The active version will be the last version you saved. You can make any of the versions active by promoting that version.

Promoting a version refers to making the selected version the active version. Make sure you have Versions and Alternates View chosen as your view, so you can see thumbnails of all the versions.

To promote a version:

  1. Navigate to the file in the Version Cue/Bridge window.

  2. Right-click (Windows) or Ctrl-click (Mac) the version you want to promote.

  3. From the contextual menu, choose Promote Version.

  4. Click Save to save this version and promote it to the active version.


Figure 1-17.

Not only can you promote versions, but you can open any and all of the versions in the applications that created them so you can determine which versions you want to keep and which versions you want to delete.

After you have decided that a version is no longer needed, you can delete the version right in Version Cue.

To delete a version:

  1. Navigate to the file in the Version Cue/Bridge window.

  2. Right-click (Windows) or Ctrl-click (Mac) the version you want to delete.

  3. From the contextual menu, choose Delete Version. You'll see a warning dialog box with the prompt "Are you sure you want to delete version <version number> of the file <filename>?" Deleted versions are unrecoverable. If you're sure you won't need it, click OK.

The version will be removed from the Version Cue project.

NOTE You can also delete versions from the Administrative Utility in Version Cue, as long as you have the access permission.

Created: March 27, 2003
Revised: March 27, 2006

URL: http://webreference.com/graphics/bridge2/1